kansas city events happenings
  updated 02.16.13


EVENTS/EXHIBITSLECTURES/WORKSHOPSVISUAL ARTS/FILMTHEATER/COMEDY

MUSIC/DANCE/POETRYTEEN ACTIVITIESFAMILY/CHILDREN'S ACTIVITIESSPORTS/HEALTH


 

MUSIC/DANCE/POETRY Back to Top

911 Restaurant & Lounge, – 1911 Main, 816-527-0200, www.1911main.com
Ameristar Star Pavilion, – 3200 N Ameristar Dr., 866-667--3386, 816-414-7000, www.ameristar.com
B.B.'s Lawnside Bar B.Q., Wed., Shinetop, Jr., Thurs., John Paul's Flying Circus, Sat., "Mama Ray" jam, Sun., Lee McBee & The Confessors – 1205 E 85th St., 816-822-7427, www.bbslawnsidebbq.com
The Beaumont Club, – 4050 Pennsylvania, 816-561-2560, www.beaumontkc.com
The Blue Room, – 1616 E 18th St., 816-474-2929, 816-474-6262, www.americanjazzmuseum.org
The Bottleneck, – 737 New Hampshire, Lawrence, 785-841-5483, www.thebottlenecklive.com
Capitol Federal Park@Sandstone, – 633 N 130th St., Bonner Springs, www.sandstoneamp.com
CrossCurrents Barn Dance, – St. Paul's Episcopal Day School, 4041 Main, 816-292-2887, www.crosscurrentsculture.org
CrossroadsKC, – 417 E 18th St., www.crossroadskc.com
Czar Bar, – 1531 Grand, 816-221-2244, www.czarbar.com
Davey's Uptown, – 3402 Main, 816-753-1909, www.daveysuptown.com
Fat Fish Blue, – Zona Rosa, 7260 NW 87th St., 816-759-3474, www.fatfishbluekc.com
Folly Theater, – 12th & Central, 816-474-4444, www.follytheater.org
Gaslight Grill & Back Room, jazz, – 5020 W 137th St., 913-897-3540, www.gaslightgrill.com
Gem Theater, – 1601 E 18th St., 816-474-6262, www.americanjazzmuseum.org
The Granada, – 1020 Massachusetts, 785-842-1390, www.thegranada.com
Harrah's Voodoo Lounge, – One Riverboat Dr., NKC 816-931-3330, 816-889-7320, www.VooDooKC.com
Harriman-Jewell Series, 816-415-7814, www.hjseries.org
Homer's Coffee House, – 7126 W 80th St., 913-381-6022, www.homerscoffeehouse.com
Hot Jazz, Cool Nights, free, 7-9 pm, – Zona Rosa, 8640 N Dixson Ave., 816-587-8180, www.zonarosa.com
Independence Events Center, – 19100 E Valley View Pkwy., 816-795-7577, www.independenceeventscenter.com
Jardine's, – 4536 Main, 816-561-6480, www.jardines4jazz.com
Jazz at The Hotel Phillips, Thurs., 5:30-8:30 pm, Fri.-Sat., 8-11 pm – 10 W 12th St., 816-221-7000, www.HotelPhillips.com
Jazz Poetry Jams, open mic poetry slams with cash prizes, $5, third Tuesdays of the month – American Jazz Museum's Blue Room, 18th & Vine, 816-474-8463 ext. 2
The Jazzhaus, – 926 1/2 Massachusetts, Lawrence, 785-749-3320, www.jazzhaus.com
Jim Mair & Mike Ning, 6:30-9:30 pm, Fridays & Saturdays; Mike Ning & Sherry Jones, 5-8 pm, every Sunday – Johnny Cascone's, 6863 W 91st St., 913-381-6837
Kansas City Jazz at the Golden Ox Loren Pickford and his trio, featuring Charlie Gatchet & Micah Herman, 6:30-10:30 pm, every Friday and Saturday – Ox Bar, Golden Ox Restaurant, 1600 Genessee, 816-842-2866, www.goldenox.com
Kansas City Symphony, – The Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, 1601 Broadway, 816-471-0400,www.kcsymphony.org
Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, - 1601 Broadway, 816-994-7222, www.kauffmancenter.org
Knuckleheads Saloon, – 2715 Rochester, 816-483-1456, www.knuckleheadskc.com
Liberty Hall, – 644 Mass.St., Lawrence, 785-749-1972, www.libertyhall.net
Lied Center of Kansas, – 1600 Stewart Dr., 785-864-2787, www.lied.ku.edu
Live at the Legends, 5-8 pm, – Jazz: A Louisiana Kitchen, Legends, 1843 Village West Pkwy., www.legendsshopping.com
Lucky Brewgrille, Live Jazz Fridays – 5401 Mission Rd., 913-405-8571, ww.luckybrewgrille.com
The Midland
, – 1228 Main, 816-283-9921, www.midland.com
The Mutual Musicians Foundation, Rush Hour Live Jazz, 4:30-8:30 pm, Fridays, Late Night Jams, 1 am-5 am, weekends – 1823 Highland, 816-471-5212, www.thefoundationjamson.org
Ophelia's, jazz, blues — 201 N Main, Independence, 816-461-4525, www.opheliasind.com
Paul & Jacks Tavern, – 1808 Clay, NKC, 816-221-9866, www.paulandjacks.com
The Phoenix, local jazz artists – 302 W 8th St., 816-221-JAZZ, www.phoenixjazzkc.com
Power & Light District, concerts, free, – 14th & Grand, 816-842-1045, www.powerandlightdistrict.com
Quality Hill Playhouse, – 303 W 10th St., 816-421-1700, www.qualityhillplayhouse.com
RBar, – 1617 Genessee, 816-471-1777, www.rbarkc.com
Record Bar, Rex Hobart Honky Tonk Supper Club, every Tuesday; Bob Walkenhorst & Friends, every Wednesday; –1020 Westport Rd., 816-753-5207, www.therecordbar.com
Replay Lounge, – 946 Massachusetts, Lawrence, 785-749-7676
Retro, – 1518 McGee, 816-421-4201, www.retrodowntown.com
Riot Room, – 4048 Broadway, 816-442-8179, www.theriotroom.com
Sprint Center, – 1407 Grand, 800-745-3000, 816-949-7000, www.sprintcenter.com
Starlight Theatre, – 4600 Starlight Rd., Swope Park, 816-363-7827, www.kcstarlight.com
Stix & Stones, – 11404 E 24 Hwy., Sugar Creek, 816-833-STIX, www.stixstones.com
Sunday Jazz, w/ Mike Ning, Victor Perelmuter, 5-8 pm, every Sunday – Cafe Cedar, 2 E 2nd St., Parkville, 816-505-2233, www.cafecedar.com
Take Five, open jam 2nd & 4th Sundays, 7-10 pm, – 5336 W 151st, 913-948-5550, www.takefivecoffeebar.com
Trouser Mouse Bar & Grill, – 625 NW Mock Ave., Blue Springs, 816-220-1212, www.trousermousebar.com
Uptown Arts Bar, – 3611 Broadway, 816-960-4611, http://uptownartsbar.com
Uptown Theater, – 3700 Broadway, www.uptowntheater.com

AUDITION:

VISUAL ARTS/FILMBack to Top

Hallmark Visitors Center, 14 exhibits areas about the Hallmark company founded in 1910, ongoing — Crown Center, 2450 Grand, 816-274-5745, www.hallmarkvisitorscenter.com
IFC Meetings, network and seminars for the independent and student filmmakers, Wednesdays, ongoing – Westport Coffee House, 5010 Pennsylvania, 913-649-0244, www.ifckc.com
Kansas City Artists Coalition,– 201 Wyandotte, 816-421-5222, www.kansascityartistscoalition.org
Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art, – 4420 Warwick Blvd., 816-753-5784, www.kemperart.org
– Lawrence Arts Center, 940 New Hampshire, 785-843-2787, www.lawrenceartscenter.org
The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art,– 4525 Oak, 816-751-1ART, www.nelson-atkins.org
Off-the-Wall Film Series, free, 8:45 pm, – Central Library, 14 W 10th St., 816-701-3407, www.kclibrary.org
Stanley H. Durwood Film Vault, free, Mondays, 6:30 pm, Saturdays, 1:30 pm, Central Library, 14 W 10th St., 816-701-3407, www.kclibrary.org

CALL FOR ARTISTS: The Carter Arts Center at MCC-Penn Valley Community Center has issued a call for artists. The application can be downloaded at http://mcckc.edu/pvart ... Lighton Internation Artist Exchange Program is taking submissions, go to www.KansasCityArtistsCoalition.org

THEATER/COMEDY Back to Top

The Hound of the Baskervilles, thru Feb. 24 — American Heartland Theatre, 2450 Grand, Ste. 314, 816-842-9999, www.ahtkc.com
The Breakfast Club – Live Mondays, $12, 7:30 pm, ongoing – Westport Coffeehouse, 4010 Pennsylvania, 816-474-6552, www.coterietheatre.org
ComedyCity
, $9-$13, 7:30 pm, 10 pm, Friday & Saturday – 817 Westport Rd., 816-842-2744, www.comedycity.cc
– H&R Block City Stage Theatre, Union Station, 30 W Pershing Rd., 816-460-2020, www.tya.org
– New Theatre Restaurant, 9229 Foster, 913-649-7469, www.newtheatre.com
 Kansas City Improv – 7260 NW 87th St., 816-759-5233,
www.improvkc.com
– Music Theater Heritage, Off Center Theatre, 2450 Grand, 816-842-9999, www.musicaltheaterheritage.com
– Coterie Theatre, 2450 Grand, 816-474- 6552, www.coterietheatre.org
– Barn Players Theatre, 6219 Martway, 913-432-9100, 800-836-3006, www.barnplayers.org
– Martin City Melodrama & Vaudeville Company, Metcalf South Shopping Center, 95th & Metcalf, 913-642-7576, www.martincitymelodrama.org
Stanford & Sons Comedy Club, – Legends Mall, 913-400-7500, www.stanfordscomedyclub.com
— Unicorn Theatre, 3828 Main, 816-531-7529, www.unicorntheatre.org

Auditions:


kcactive Happenings listings are free; email, calendarEKC@kcactive.com or fax, 816-474-1427